Frequently Asked Questions
What is a bail bond & how does it work in Tennessee?
A bail bond is the document presented to the court to ensure the release of the defendant and to ensure the defendant’s appearance at the court hearing. A bail bond is a loan between you and the bail bond agent that is secured by your promise to appear on your court date. The bail bond agent will require the defendant or designated party to pay a non-refundable down payment, usually for a percentage of the bail.
How much down payment on Bail do I have to pay in TN?
Depending on the seriousness of the crime, as well as whether or not the defendant agrees to promptly appear in court, bail can be set by the court between $1,000 and many hundreds of thousands of dollars. When paying the posted bail amount in full is not an option, most people hire a bail bondsman to help get them out of jail. The fee is typically determined by law and a certain percentage of the bond amount, often 10% to 15% of the bail, will be the fee.
How long does it take to be released from jail in Clarksville, TN?
Release times vary from jail to jail, as well as, state to state after posting bail. The release from jail can take anywhere from 30 minutes to 48 hours. Working with a bail bondsman can help to keep you informed every step of the way.
Does Fizer Bail Bonds write bonds for Drug Charges?
Yes. Fizer Bail Bonds is highly experienced with drug charge bail bonds. Depending on the type of drug, the amount possessed, and whether the person is charged with intent to distribute, the bond price can be somewhat costly. Fortunately, we are a professional family owned and operated business located in Springfield, Tennessee that offers fast services, competitive rates, friendly people, and many other benefits to help you make paying for the bond as quickly and as painless as possible.
What happens at an Arraignment Hearing in TN?
After a person has been arrested and arrived at the Robertson County or Montgomery County jail they will stay there until their arraignment. During the arraignment hearing, the person who was arrested will now be referred to as a defendant and be told of the charges that are filed against them as well as their bail amount, or bail price for their crime.
What does it mean to co-sign a bail bond in TN?
When you co-sign a bail bond for your friend or loved one in Tennessee, also known as becoming an indemnitor, you agree to also being responsible for the actions of the defendant while they are continuing to live their life while free on bail. Therefore, you are now highly invested in helping make sure that they appear for their court date on the right day and time.
What is Criminal Mischief in Tennessee?
In the Volunteer State, there is no first-degree criminal mischief offense. Instead, the phrase “criminal mischief” usually refers to one of three nuisance offenses: disorderly conduct, criminal trespass, or vandalism. Read more at our blog article here
Does Your Criminal Record Clear After 7 Years in TN?
Traffic ticket points often fall off a driving record after seven years. Additionally, negative information on a credit report, like charge-offs or bankruptcies, often falls off after seven years. Finally, when many private companies provide background checks for employment purposes, arrest records more than seven years old do not appear on these reports. So, it is easy to see where this myth came from. However, in most cases, criminal records last forever. That includes both arrest and conviction records. Read more at: https://fizerbailbonds.com/how-long-do-criminal-records-last/
Am I Sober Enough to Drive in TN?
The answer to this question is very subjective. Many people believe they are sober enough to drive even after they consume several drinks. In some cases, that may appear to be correct, depending on factors like the person’s gender, weight, and alcohol tolerance level. But in court, this question does not matter. A better question is “Can the state prove that I was not sober enough to drive?” That’s a very complex question which has a very complex answer. Read more at: https://fizerbailbonds.com/am-i-sober-enough-to-drive/
How should I dress for Court in TN?
Dress like you are going to church. You do not need to wear a coat and tie, but definitely, do not wear shorts or other overly-casual attire. Try to avoid “sagging pants” and “revealing tops” and men should tuck in their shirts as the court may take it as a sign of disrespect. “Cover it up and keep it covered” is the motto here.
Can You Refuse to Sign a Ticket in TN?
Yes, you have the right to refuse to sign a traffic ticket. But it may not be a wise idea to forcefully assert this right. In the end, an unsigned ticket is not a get-out-of-jail-free card. The ticket is still legally valid. Your signature is just a promise to appear in court. You are not admitting or denying any facts or allegations by signing or not signing the ticket.
Do arrest warrants go away in TN?
Arrest warrants, including bench warrants, have no statute of limitations. They remain active until a peace officer serves them, a judge withdraws them, or, the involved Bonding Company lifts them. Any peace officer can serve an arrest warrant at any time. The warrant does not have to be from that county, or even from that state. An officer can serve an arrest warrant coming from any court.
Can You Be Arrested in a Church in TN?
A church is not like a foreign embassy. Montgomery and Robertson County peace officers still have authority in local churches. As a matter of fact, police officers do not even need warrants to enter churches in some situations. The hot pursuit exception allows an officer to enter churches, homes, businesses, and other buildings if they are chasing a criminal suspect.
Does Contempt of Court Go On Your Record in TN?
Generally, contempt of court does not go on your record. However, the actual result usually depends on your reaction or how you deal with the charge.
Civil contempt is usually disobeying a court order, like refusing to pay child support. Technically, the defendant could refuse to pay child support forever, and the contempt would become permanent. But most people in Tennessee purge these contempt charges by either fully or partially complying (e.g. the judge approves an installment payment plan).
The same is true of criminal contempt, which is usually disrupting judicial proceedings. That could be something extreme, like calling the judge a nasty name, or something rather minor, like failing to silence a cell phone. If the defendant sincerely apologizes, normally all is forgiven. But absent such an apology, the criminal contempt charge could become a permanent conviction. It always pays off to play nice and be respectful…especially in court.
What Happens When You are in Contempt of Court in TN?
In civil contempt cases, the judge normally issues a bench warrant. That warrant goes into the computer, and the next time you are pulled over for anything, you will probably go to jail. A bonding agent can usually clear the warrant before you get arrested. In all civil contempt cases, your bondsman is an excellent resource person.
Criminal contempt cases work a bit differently. If the defendant is disruptive, the judge may order the bailiff to put the defendant in the holding cell. After everyone cools off, the defendant usually apologizes or pays a small fine, and the matter goes away without a permanent conviction.
What Happens if You Turn Yourself In for a Warrant in TN?
Warrant surrender always takes place at the jail or courthouse. Typically, surrendering defendants either do not have to go into the general population section or only stay there for a few minutes.
Your local Fizer bail bondsman is familiar with Montgomery and Robertson County procedures and can help you with knowing what to expect and how to get through the process as quickly and easily as possible.
What’s the Best Time to Turn Yourself In for a Warrant in TN?
The time of day, or time of night, makes a difference. Weekend nights are usually the worst time to turn yourself in for a warrant. In contrast, weekday afternoons are usually the best time to surrender.
Am I allowed to Leave the State While Out on Bond in TN?
Strictly speaking, leaving the state while out on bail is one of the biggest no-nos in the book. Fortunately, Fizer Bonding Company of Clarksville, TN bail bonds office can sometimes be flexible on this point. If you have a good reason for leaving the state, plan ahead, and contact your bondsman for permission in advance, there’s a good chance you can cross the state border and stay out of jail.
Does a TN Drunk and Disorderly Arrest Go on My Record?
In most cases, a Public Intoxication ticket does not go on your record. If Montgomery and Robertson County officers take someone into custody for a 39-17-310 violation, it’s not technically a public intoxication arrest. Instead, in most cases, the police place the person into protective custody. There’s a big difference. Nevertheless, police could still take you to jail for public intoxication, especially if there is no other available option or the defendant is out of control.